Torbreck Tasting Brings out the Winemaker in Us All

I think nearly everyone in the wine trade secretly wants to be a winemaker. Why else would you find people arriving early to a tasting of the vineyards that make up Torbreck’s high-flying Runrig wine. Not many will admit it, but everybody made their own Runrig blend on the day and had the chance to compare their effort to the final wine.

James Young, the manager behind the tasting, and winemaker Craig Isbel, share a belief that the Barossa region should be seen as world-class fine wine, sitting on the same stage as great wine regions such as the Rhône, Burgundy and Bordeaux.

A key similarity between the French regions and the Barossa is the multi-generational families of grape growers who have been running the vineyards, contributing a human influence to the land and the vines. Like all great viticultural regions, people are part of the notion of taste of place, or terroir. The soils are aspects that add to the weave of shiraz expression.

Randy_Larcombe_Photo_Shoot_163

A key difference between the French regions and the Barossa is the use of different vineyards from subtly different soils, aspects, and locations within the Barossa to create a Grand Vin or top wine. The equivalent in my eyes to the vineyards we tasted in this tasting would be for Bordeaux to blend from the best and oldest vineyards in Margaux, St Julien, Grave, St Estephe and Pauillac for sale in one wine. Our tasting was a pure expression of what can be done with very old vines when the rules allow viticultural freedom and the freedom to follow the path to the best wine by not limiting the human imagination with unnecessary regulations.

The backbone of the Runrig style is the vineyards from which it is drawn. The fruit shows an intelligent combination of the southern elegance and tightness of Lyndoch, and the more northern mid-palate richness and power of the Western ridge.

Native_Plantings_(2)

The winemaking is geared to enhance the taste of the fruit, hence the taste of place. It is well known in wine circles that Torbreck uses very low preservative levels during the maturation of its wines.

To quote Craig Isbel: “The low sulphur levels, while maturing the wine in oak, are about natural development”. Craig justifies his approach by saying a more sterile environment through high sulphur, (although still low by world standards) will produce less complexity.

It seems to me that this technique is a ‘shades of grey’ style moment. A slight exposure of the fruit flavour, with shades of volatile acidity, means you can smell it aromatically at around .8 or .9 grams per litre, snuggling into the fruit aromas to make the wine more expressive. In this manner, each barrel finds its own path of evolution to develop near aldehyde levels that are risky, but with the aim of less control and more vineyard expression. As Craig says: “When I’m doing my job, I hardly doing anything at all.”

Our tasting was the key vineyards that go into Runrig, being the 2012 Runrig assemblage.

Lyndoch

A 1880s planting, east facing mostly southerly, so it is cool and the soil full of ironstone. Craig believes this ironstone soil gives fine tannins and aromatics and a fresh tight structure and finesse to the aromas, which became more evident as the tasting progressed. The wine shows its alcohol in youth. It is approx 33% of final wine.

Rowland Flat

Not an official sub-region but nearly deserving of the status, in the hills of the side planted in 1880 in the sandy top soils near the Novotel Hotel above the Jacobs Creek winery. Aromas are roasted fruits, toffee, caramelisation, darker fruits, and a sweeter nose leading to the spicy roasted fruits, charcuterie and a depth in the mouth of more elegant flowing fruits.

Torbreck_Vineyard_Map

Seppeltsfield

The winery is a region of its own and part of the famed western ridge of the Barossa. Here the vine age is younger, so winemaker selection is an element. In the same year, their wine “The Factor” gets the fruit that shows more olive, with dark and powerful flavours and The Runrig gets the fruit with more fresh fruit filled aromatics and fruit driven, silky tannin flavours. The clay soils here contribute power and depth with a lead a pencil aroma that smells oak like with dried spices and dark chocolate. The palate has depth, roundness and richness with mocha and dark olive spectrum flavours and silky tannins to close. It demonstrated that clay has silky tannins, while iron stone is bolder tannins.

Greenock

A region best for Grenache in Craig’s mind. We tasted wine from a 1860 planting of 1 ha in size. The more fertile soils create darker fruit characters with dark chocolate aromas while the upfront fruit and tannins were felt on the outside of the tongue but falls away through the mid palate. An aromatic spice element that adds a lot of interest to the final wine.

Moppa

Another ancient vineyard planted in 1860 on a mix of sand, lime stone and granite. When planted, the German farmer left the sandy soils for Mataro and the hard soils at the top of the hill were reserved for Shiraz, an early example of site specific planting based on common sense. A little raucously Craig opined it is only a very small region that gets extended by marketing to produce more wine than the vineyards are capable. The wine has wow factor with a textural middle palate, caramel, plum extension and length. Very fresh and aromatic with good acid, great depth of flavour, evenness and length with class. Energy from the tip of tongue with expressive fruit drive.

Ebenezer

From the Adrian Hoffman vineyard, one of the great grape growing families. Curious complex aromas of olive and gherkin, almost herbal with dark chocolate and coffee aromatics. The flat site allows the vines easy access to the water table underneath and that gives wines with power, depth and texture. A very full bodied and super generous palate with awesome depth and richness, almost succulent. A wow wow factor here.

Writer:Rob Geddes MW             Editor&Translator:赵娜         Photo provided:Torbreck

Introduction

L09_7571-2

Rob Geddes MW has been immersed in every aspect of the wine industry for more than 30 years as reviewer, author, consultant, presenter, judge, educator and entertainer. He was the 3rd Australian to become a Master of Wine and is part of judging panels at numerous national and international wine shows. He is the author of “Australian Wine Vintages” book and app as well as “A Good Nose And Great Legs: The Art Of Wine From The Vine To The Table”.

Through all his work, he aims to turn the complex science of wine simple-to-grasp concepts. He educats and entertains with an affable, raconteur style that makes people laugh.

Top

让你遇到每个人心中都藏着的那个酿酒师

我想几乎每个葡萄酒贸易从业人员的内心深处都有一个隐秘的愿望:想要成为酿酒师。不然的话,还能是出于什么原因才能使得人们早早赶到托布雷酒庄(Torbreck)来参加它的品鉴会。这次品鉴的是其大获成功的托布雷小地块西拉干红葡萄酒(Torbreck Runrig Shiraz)混酿所使用的来自不同葡萄园的原酒。尽管很多人不会承认,但是品鉴会当天每个人都打造出了他自己的小地块干红混酿,并且有机会将其与最终酿酒师呈现出的最终产品进行比较。

文: Rob Geddes MW  编译: 赵娜  图片提供:Torbreck

Randy_Larcombe_Photo_Shoot_163

此次品鉴的组织者 James Young,以及酿酒师 Craig Isbel 分享了他们的观点,他们认为巴罗萨产区(Barossa Region)应当被视作为世界级的精品葡萄酒产区,与罗讷河谷(Rhône)、勃艮第(Burgundy)、和波尔多(Bordeaux)等顶级葡萄酒产区平起平坐。

巴罗萨与法国葡萄酒产区之间的一个关键的相似点是:数代传承的家族在葡萄园上的耕作。他们为这片土地以及葡萄贡献了来自人的影响因素。正如其他伟大产区一样,在这片土地上工作的人的作用也是当地“风土”的构成因素之一。土壤是造就此地西拉的表达因素之一。

法国葡萄酒产区与巴罗萨的一个显著的区别是:在巴罗萨,为打造一款伟大的酒或顶级品质的酒,葡萄可以来自不同土壤构成、不同朝向、不同位置的葡萄园。在我们这次品鉴中品尝到的正是来自几个不同地块葡萄的混酿,在我看来,这几乎等同于在波尔多,将来自玛歌村(Margaux)、圣朱利安(St Julien)、格拉夫(Grave)、圣爱斯泰夫(St Esteph)和波亚克(Pauillac)品质最佳、最古老的葡萄园的葡萄用于打造同一款佳酿。当法规不再给葡萄栽培带上种种枷锁,面对一些老藤,酿酒师不再被一些不必要的法规限制想象力,而获得追寻最佳品质的自由时,我们究竟可以走多远,做到何种程度?我们今天的品鉴,正是对此追问的探索。

Native_Plantings_(2)

酿酒的过程旨在提升果实本身的风味,因而也是提升源自产地的风味。在酒圈中人尽皆知,托布雷酒庄在葡萄酒成熟过程中,硫的使用量很低。

Craig Isbel 说道:“当葡萄酒在橡木桶中成熟的过程中,较低的硫含量是为了使酒可以进行自然的发展。”Craig 认为通过较高的硫含量(尽管仍低于国际标准)而打造一个相对更为无菌的环境,会降低酒的复杂度。

于我而言,这项技术是处于一个“灰色地带”。一些细微的果味呈现,以及挥发酸的痕迹,意味着在0.8~0.9g/L 的含量下,你便可以闻到其芳香。果味的芳香让酒更具表现力。减少人工干预可使其更充分表达葡萄园特征,有利于每桶酒都会按照自己的方式演化,直到发展到有风险的醛类。正如 Craig 所说:“我的工作,其实简直无事可做。”

我们品鉴的小地块干红选用了2012年份主要葡萄园的原酒。

vjsdio

托布雷小地块西拉这款酒的风格植根于孕育它的葡萄园。它呈现出了来自于南部 Lyndoch 的优雅紧致、来自北部的浓郁口感和 Western ridge 的强劲之间达成的绝妙的平衡融合。

Lyndoch

此地的葡萄园种植于19世纪80年代,位于南部,朝向冬面,因而气候凉爽,土壤富含铁矿石。Craig 认为这些铁矿石土壤带来了精致的单宁和芳香物质、新鲜紧致的结构和细腻的香气,这些特征在品鉴中的表现也非常明显。它在年轻时即显现出了酒精感。这个地块的原酒在最终的酒中占到大约33%的比例。

Rowland Flat

Rowland Flat 还不是一个正式的亚产区,但它几乎值得被认证为一个正式的亚产区。这块葡萄园种植于1880年,位于一侧的山地。表层土壤为沙土。位于杰卡斯酒厂(Jacobs Creek winery)之上的诺富特酒店(Novotel Hotel)附近。香气为烤果子、太妃糖、焦糖、深色水果、甜香料、熟肉,而在口中流动更为优雅、有浓郁的果味。

Torbreck_Vineyard_Map

Seppeltsfield

Seppeltsfield 酒庄(Seppeltsfield Winery)是一个独立的产区,而且是巴罗萨著名的 Western Ridge 的一部分。这里的葡萄树相对年轻,所以酿酒师的挑选是决定其品质的重要因素。其代表性酒品——“元素”(“The Factor”),展现出了更多的橄榄、黑色水果和强劲的风味。而托布雷小地块干红则拥有更多新鲜的果味、芳香、单宁丝滑。这里的粘土带来了力量和深度,铅笔芯的香气、橡木味、干香料和黑巧克力。口感圆润、单宁丝滑、香气浓郁有深度,带有摩卡、黑橄榄味道。由此可以看出:粘土给予了丝滑的单宁,而铁矿石带来更为清晰刚劲的单宁。

Greenock

Craig 认为格陵诺克是最适合歌海娜的产区。我们品尝了来自于一个古老葡萄园的原酒,这块面积为1公顷的葡萄园始建于1860年。其较为肥沃的土壤带来了黑色水果特征以及黑巧克力香气。入口有直接的果味和单宁感,但在中段消失。芬芳的香料元素给最终的成品酒带来颇具特色的风格。

Moppa

Moppa 同样历史悠久,葡萄园建于1860年,土壤类型包括沙土、石灰石和花岗岩。在最初种植的时候,来自德国的农民在沙土质的葡萄园里种植慕合怀特(Mataro),将西拉种植在山顶土质较硬的土壤中,这是一个早年间基于常识、针对特定地块进行种植的典型案例。Craig 认为 Moppa 这是一个非常小的产区,但是被市场驱动而扩张,产量超过其葡萄园的负荷。我们品尝到的来自 Moppa 的酒展现出了一系列令人印象深刻的因素:上佳的结构感、持续的焦糖、李子味道以及悠长的回味。非常新鲜、芳香,酸度愉悦,口感有深度,均衡、持续。入口有力、充盈着浓郁的果味。

Ebenezer

Runrig 中所用的 Ebenezer 的葡萄来自鼎鼎大名的艾德里安 · 霍夫曼(Adrian Hoffman)家族的葡萄园。酒中交织着复杂的橄榄、小黄瓜、近乎草本的香气以及黑巧克力和咖啡香气。平坦的地势使得葡萄更容易接近地下水位,从而使其酿造的葡萄酒更强壮有力、有深度和结构。酒体非常饱满,口感超级丰富,极优的深度和浓郁度,多汁美味,令人欣喜。

作者简介

L09_7571-2

拥有超过30年的葡萄酒行业从业经验,身兼葡萄酒作家、顾问、评论家、评委、教育者等多重身份。他是澳大利亚第三位葡萄酒大师(MW, Master of Wine)。作为葡萄酒作者,他获奖无数。他还曾在不计其数的国际葡萄酒比赛中担任评委。他是每年发行的《澳大利亚葡萄酒年鉴》(Australian Wine Vintages)的作者以及应用软件“A Good Nose And Great Legs: The Art Of Wine From The Vine To The Table”的创始人。

通过他的工作,他希望将有关葡萄酒的复杂科学转变成易于理解的概念。他亲切易懂的文风、诙谐幽默的授课方式深受世界各地葡萄酒爱好者的欢迎。

Top